Skip to content

Spare Time

November 26, 2009

Cindy Battles

This post was contributed by Cindy Battles, a freelance writer based in Rutland, VT who’s been diagnosed with and managing bipolar disorder for many years.

Recently a family friend died.  We sent flowers and food over to their house in the pouring rain.  Last night we came home at 6 o’clock in the pitch dark from the wake.

All this reminds me that time is short and it really matters how we spend it.  Today is Thanksgiving and I give thanks for a warm home to come to with people who love me and I love.  But silent prayers sometimes aren’t enough.  Action is called for.

I heard from the United Way this week about jobs I can volunteer for.  I remember delivering hot lunches for Meals on Wheels and how it was one of the most satisfying things I had ever done.  The elderly, some of whom wouldn’t see another person that day, thanked me for my smile.  I left with an even bigger one.

Some ideas for you this season of giving thanks:

  1. Keep a Gratitude Journal and write three things a day in it.
  2. Make a list of those who have helped you the most and do something kind for them.
  3. Offer friends who have stuck by you a Coupon good for leaf raking, chores or babysitting.

You want to be generous and grateful this Thanksgiving, but if your finances are past limited and stretched to the breaking point, why not, if you are unable to budget money for donations, offer your time to give back?  Do something to help others and find out how empowered and alive that makes you feel.

Best wishes,

Cindy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynn permalink
    December 2, 2009 6:45 pm

    Great blog, Cindy. It’s so important to keep gratitude and service in mind this time of year, and perhaps particularly in this economy. So many people are struggling, to be sure.

    I like the idea of giving back by donating one’s time. It takes all of us working together to make the difficult times manageable.

    Being grateful is always a great thing. I have the most wonderful friends and family, and need to make sure I remind myself of that … and tell them so.

Trackbacks

  1. S.A.D. « Real Economic Impact BLOG

Leave a Reply

