Skip to content

The Single Saver

March 18, 2010

This post was contributed by Elizabeth Jennings, Program Associate for National Disability Institute and Syracuse University’s Burton Blatt Institute, Singleton and Saver.

“If you can walk, you can dance. If you can talk, you can sing.”

This has always been my favorite proverb. It’s from Africa and is usually found written alongside pictures of African women wearing broad smiles and traditional African garb, their arms stretched out towards one another with hands intertwined, evoking thoughts of joyous dancing. A celebration.

To me, it has always given me the feeling that if I can do the basic steps, I can do anything. It gives me hope in my own abilities. It empowers me beyond my usual fear of failure/embarrassment to the possibility of success. Or, at the very least, joy in the motions.

Let’s mix it up…. “If you can work, you can earn. If you can budget, you can save.”

Half of the challenge we each experience in building a better economic life for ourselves is having the self-confidence to believe that we can do it.  

It often feels like it takes someone who’s smarter, who earns more, who has their life in better order or has someone to take care of it all for them.

It doesn’t.

You can do it. You just need to learn the basics.

And to prove it…. I’m gonna do it with you.

Over the next several months, I am going to walk you through the steps I took to redefine my financial life. We’re gonna cover all the basics and learn to walk and talk personal finance.

Think this will be easy for me? It won’t.

It’s embarrassing to admit there was a time in my life when I put my finances off to the side (I’ll tell you why in my next post).

And the idea of putting my personal life out on the web for all the world to see is simply mortifying to me.

But, more importantly, I am a single woman and a recent Pew Foundation report shows that single women have the lowest household incomes.

So I feel it’s important that I share with my fellow singletons how I took control of my financial life, set a savings goal and am sticking with it.

I’m not a financial planner and I’m not an expert on personal finances. But I am someone who went from Point A to Point B and is willing to share the experience.

Ladies, the choice is simple, wait for a husband/partner to better your economic future or take your financial life into your own hands.

Anyone ready to learn to dance with me?

— Elizabeth

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 11:10 am

    Loved your blog, Elizabeth! I am a singleton who has savings goals. Can’t wait to read more of your writing and ideas.

Trackbacks

  1. Putting Your Tax Refund to Work « Real Economic Impact BLOG

Leave a Reply

